MSGAutoSave: Automatically Save Photos & Videos Received In iMessage [Jailbreak]


Sending videos and photos is one of those little things that iMessages does that I take for granted sometimes but in retrospect, I get a lot of use out of. Specifically; I can sketch out a design, snap a picture of someone’s visiting card, and just about any information that I would otherwise have to spend time writing down, and share it with others. Likewise, I receive a lot of information in similar fashion. It’s great except for when I forget to save an photo to my camera roll and have to scroll through long conversations just to find it. It’s time consuming. MSGAutoSave is a Cydia tweak available in the insanelyi repository that automates this function; any and all photos or videos you receive are automatically saved to your camera roll. The tweak can enable a confirmation message if you don’t want all photos and videos being saved. It can also resize photos and videos before saving them.


MSGAutoSave is available in the insanelyi repository ( Download, restart springboard when prompted, and you’re all set to go. The tweak won’t modify the Messages app’s interface; photos or videos you receive are silently and automatically saved.

msgautosave photo


The developer of MSGAutoSave understands that you may not want to save all photos that you receive in iMessages so there are settings to enable a confirmation prompt. The prompt will pop up each time you receive a photo or a video and you can tap ‘Cancel’ if you do not want to save the photo, or ‘Save’ if you want to go ahead with the save.

settings  confirmation

By default, the photo and video resizing options are disabled as well. You can enable them and choose from the tweak’s settings what size to resize them to. Photos are resized with respect to their original size; you can choose to have the image resized to 55%-95% of the original size. Videos are resized with respect to their resolution; they can be resized to 640×480, 960×540, 1280×720, and 1920×1080.

resize photos resize video


Needless to say the tweak is awesome though an additional option to safe-list some contacts and enable the confirm save option for all others would make this tweak perfect. Users who decide to use it and do not enable the confirmation pop-up should take into consideration how often they receive photos and/or videos, as well as how much space they have available on their device. Likewise, if your photos and videos are backed up to iCloud, the influx of the photos and videos saved from iMessages might also dent your storage space.