Permissions: Manage & Control The Privacy Of Your Facebook, Twitter & Other Accounts

A lot of people might not be aware of the fact that they have allowed a lot of apps to post to their Facebook account on their behalf, or to access their personal data from Twitter, Instagram or Windows Live. A majority of iOS apps that have got some social aspect, need users to link these services to the app, and it is only natural to lose track of all the services that are allowed to access your personal accounts. Of course, there are menus for revoking and managing these permissions in all services (like the Apps section in Facebook’s Account Settings), but most users don’t want to go to each account separately and then go through the long list of all the apps added there so that the useless ones can be culled. Permissions is an iPhone app to cleanse all your personal accounts including Yahoo, Hotmail, Facebook, Twitter, etc. The app provides a streamlined way of removing apps from all these accounts, and you can even use it to define new account privacy permissions.

Permissions iOS Permissions iOS Apps Permissions iOS Twitter

As Permissions has been designed to make your life more convenient and manageable, it makes sense that the app itself is really easy to use. You don’t have to permanently link any of your accounts with Permissions, as that would have been a bit ironic, given the fact that the app’s main purpose is to purge your accounts of linked apps. The services supported by Permissions include the following.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google
  • Dropbox
  • LinkedIn
  • Yahoo
  • Windows Live
  • Instagram
  • AoL
  • Foursquare
  • Flickr
  • Familio

Tapping on each service’s icon will take you to its login screen, and once you have entered your credentials, the app comes up with a list of all the apps that are allowed to access that account. Inside each app’s individual menu you can remove the app from your account completely, or just take away particular permissions from it.


Permissions iOS Set Permissions iOS Block Permissions iOS Reminders

Other than managing apps in this manner, you can control the privacy settings of your account on the whole as well. Go to the Block section of Permissions, and hit the Set Permissions button. This will take you to your Facebook privacy info page, and you can edit the aspects of your account that are visible to your friends from here. The Reminders section can be configured to send you notifications at regular intervals so that you keep removing unwanted apps from your accounts.

So, if you use any of the services supported by Permissions, and like to try out a lot of social apps, having this app on your iPhone is a really good idea. Permissions is optimized for iPhone, and available for free for a limited time.

Download Permissions for iOS

Advertisement