Sometimes your roommate, cousin or younger brother asks to use your computer, what will you do? Most users prevent anybody else from sitting on their computer because they are afraid that some data might get deleted by mistake.
The risk of losing the data can be reduced by using backup utilities, but wouldn’t it better if you could disable common file options such as Delete, Copy, Move, SendTo, Rename, etc?
Prevent is a small utility for Windows that disables nine different options so that your data can remain safe. These options are, Cut, Paste, Copy, Delete, Copy To, Move To, Send To, Rename, and Task Manager’s End Process button.
All you have to do is run the program, choose the hotkey to Enable/Disable the options, and hit Activate. The program will then vanish and run from background.
View in gallery
To enable the options back, hit the hotkey that you defined. It’s that easy.
One thing I have noticed is that it will disable the Delete key on the keyboard as well since it basically works by sending delete command, which is disabled. Update: It will also disable the Ctrl+C, Ctrl+X, and Ctrl+V hotkeys as well.
With this tool you can always remain on the safe side and never worry about your data getting deleted or moved.
It works on Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Server 2003/2008, Windows Vista, and Windows 7. Enjoy!