How To Fix Windows 10 Wiping Out All Settings On Login Bug

Advertisement

Windows 10 has become exceptionally more stable and less buggy since November 2015 but that isn’t to say it is completely bug free. Many of its perplexing bugs are still there and users who experience them will often have to resign themselves to having an OS that might never work right. One very odd bug that users are experiencing is Windows 10 resetting to its default settings each time a user logs out/shuts down the system and logs back in. To say this is a problem would be an understatement. It leaves Windows 10 in its out of the box state. Files aren’t deleted but things like apps pinned to the taskbar are reset so that you end up organizing your system for productivity all over again. There is one fix though that’s worth trying out and it rests in the Windows registry.

Open the Windows registry and navigate to;

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList

win10-profile-reg

Locate the profile you’re having trouble with. It will likely have two folders of the same name i.e. the same GUID with one difference. One of the folders will end in .BAK. If that is the case then this trick should help resolve your problem. To identify the profile by its folder, open it and look at the name given in the ‘ProfileImagePath’.

Step 1: Of the folders with the identical names, one will show ‘Default’ in the profile name for the ProfileImagePath key while the other, the one ending in .BAK will show your user name. Rename the folder with the ‘Default’ profile so that it ends in .TMP.

Step 2: Delete the folder with the .BAK extension.

Step 3: Go to File and select Exit from the menu. Restart your system and login with your user name and password. Ideally, your profile should be back with all your previous settings. At the very least, this problem should go away even if you end up setting up your profile anew.

If the above fails you can take drastic measures and create a new profile where, hopefully the problem will not replicate itself.

Disclaimer: Although we personally test all tips and hacks we write about and know them to work, please attempt this at your own risk.

Advertisement
  • the sake of your life

    Temporary profile has caused this, if you change your username and not renaming your username folder