Backups of your system are necessary. No matter how reliable tech gets, anything can go wrong and losing an important file, or files, is never easy. That said, you don’t need to keep every single file you ever create around forever, not does it have to be a part of your backup. If you regularly create backups of folders that you only need for a while, you should use SimpleBackup to create temporary folders backups on Windows 10.
Temporary folder backups
Download and install SimpleBackup from Github. There’s nothing you can download from the Releases tab so you have to click the Clone or Download button at the top right of the main tab, and download everything as a zipped file. Extract the zipped file, and inside the bin folder, you will find the EXE that you need to run to install the app.
Once installed, right-click a folder and you will see two new options in the context menu: Backup – [Simple backup], and Restore – [Simple backup].
The two options are pretty self-explanatory; the backup option creates the backup, and any time you need to restore a folder to its backed up version, you use the restore option.
The app doesn’t have much of an interface. You will see a progress bar for when a backup is being created, or restored. You can cancel the action from the progress bar.
The backups are saved to the following location on your system. This location is temporary, thereby making the backup itself temporary. THe
Since the backups are created on your local disk they will take up space there which, if you’re backing up a large folder, will mean you need considerable free space to do so. Also this free space needs to be on your Windows drive, and not on other drives which may be larger and more suited for backups.
The app ought to auto-delete the backups after a while though the documentation doesn’t specify how long before the backup is deleted. You can take control of it yourself and use a command line command and a scheduled task to delete the contents of the folder after a certain number of days.
This app is not meant to be used for long-term backups. It’s meant for routine tasks where you have to create files that ultimately, once a task is complete, have to be removed from your system. Those files may not be needed after a task is done but while it’s still in progress, having a backup of them may help in case you accidentally delete them or modify them and need to get the older version back.