1. Home
  2. Web

How To Remove An App Or Service From Your Facebook Account

Your Facebook account isn’t just a social account. It’s an online ID much like a Google Account. There was a time when developers of both apps and services asked users to sign up for an account with them. Not only did this mean a longer on-boarding process it also meant users had more account to keep track of and more passwords to remember. Developers now give users the option to sign up for apps or services with their Facebook account. Unfortunately, none of these services give you an option to disconnect the service from your account. If you want to remove an app or service from your Facebook account, you have to do it via Facebook.

Remove App Or Service From Facebook – Web

Sign into Facebook and click the dropdown arrow at the top right. Select Settings from the menu.

On the Settings page, select Apps from the left column. If you want to revoke specific permissions for an app, click the edit button next to an app. If you want to remove an app or service from your Facebook account, click the close button on it.

Remove App Or Service From Facebook – App

Open the Facebook app and tap the hamburger button, scroll down the screen, and tap Settings. There are several types of settings but for this purpose, you need to tap Account Settings.

Scroll down the Account Settings screen and tap Apps. On the Apps and Websites screen, tap on ‘Logged in with Facebook’.

Here, you can see a complete list of all apps and services that have access to your Facebook account. Tap the service or app that you want to remove. On the app’s own screen, you can edit the information it has access to. To remove it, scroll all the way to the bottom of the screen and tap the ‘Remove App’ button.

When you remove an app or service from your Facebook account, you stop the app from accessing any future information. Apps still have access to your email account and removing it from Facebook won’t undo that. If you want to remove the personal information that’s been collected so far you should look for an option to delete your account with the app or service you removed.

If you think removing an app or service is pointless because it doesn’t wipe all your personal data from the app/service’s database, that’s not true. If you have a malicious app on your hands, you don’t want it accessing any more information than it already has. If it still has access to your account, it might post on your behalf or spam your friends.

Leave a comment