1. Home
  2. Windows

How To Change The Language For Chrome Translate

Chrome has a built-in translation feature. When you visit a webpage that isn’t in your default language, Chrome offers to translate it. The translation option is accessible from the Omnibar. You can dismiss it if you don’t need a translation or you can click it any time you need it. The option only appears if the site you’re visiting isn’t in your default language. As useful as Chrome translate is, it doesn’t support multiple languages. It will translate text from one language to the default language. Users can change the language that Chrome translates to on the fly. You can change the language for Chrome translate from the translation prompt or from the language settings in Chrome. Here’s how.

Change Language On The Fly

When you  visit a website that’s in a different language Chrome offers to translate it. Click ‘Options’ on the translate prompt. If the prompt disappears, click the translate icon next to the bookmark icon in the omnibar to bring it up again.

The translate box’s options lets you select which language the website will be translated to and from. The box has two options; Page language, and translation language. The page language is set automatically. Chrome detects which language the page is in and sets it. If a page has more than one language on it, you can use this option to change which language is translated from the page.

You can select translation language from the ‘Translation language’ drop-down. Click it and select the language you want to translate to, and click the ‘Translate’ button. Chrome will translate the website to the language you just set. This language setting is not permanent. It will revert to the default language when you visit the same page or a different website.

Change Default Translate Language

Open Chrome and type chrome://settings/languages in the address bar. Chrome’s language settings will open. Here you can add or remove languages. Scroll to the bottom and click ‘Add’ to add the language you want Chrome to translate text to.

Once you add a language, select it and set it as the default. Be warned that Chrome can’t be displayed in all languages even if it can translate to them. Select the language and click the ‘Display Chrome in this language’ button. Restart Chrome and it will offer to translate webpages to the new default language.

This obviously isn’t an ideal solution but Chrome doesn’t have much support for multiple language translations. If you’re multi-lingual, you will have to pick one language or change the translation language for individual pages.


  1. I have profited $104k previous year by working on-line a­­n­­d I manage to earn that much by wor­king in my own time f­o­r few h daily. I used a business opportunity I was introduced by this website i found online and I am excited that i made such great money. It’s so newbie friendly a­n­d I’m just so thankful that i found this. Check out what I do… http://www.wzurl­.­me/wo_i5g

  2. I’ve made $104k in 2016 by freelancing on-line and I manage to earn that much by w­orking in my own time for few hours daily. I used work opportunity I was introduced by this web-site i found on-line and I am thrilled that I was able to earn such great money. It’s user-friendly a­­n­­d I’m just so blessed that i found this. This is what i do… http://www.wzurl­.­me/UhyySA

  3. I got paid 104,000 bucks in last 12 months by freelancing on-line a­n­d I did that by wor­king in my own time for 3 or sometimes more hours daily. I followed an earning opportunity I found online and I am so excited that i was able to make such great money. It’s very newbie-friendly a­n­d I’m just so grateful that i learned about it. Check out what I did… http://www.wzurl­.­me/fq_USw

  4. I’ve made $104k in last 12 months by working online from home a­­n­­d I did that by work­ing part-time for several hours on daily basis. I used work model I was introduced by this web-site i found on-line and I am amazed that i was able to make so much extra income. It’s really user-friendly and I’m so thankful that i found it. This is what i do… http://www.wzurl­.­me/tEXzrw

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.