1. Home
  2. Android

How To Mute An Instagram Account

Social media is generally regarded as a way to share something, anything, with lots of people. Every social media platform has its own way of sharing but what they all have in common is that you build your audience via friends or followers. Instagram is no different; you build your followers, and likewise follow accounts that interest you. As with any other social media, the accounts you follow don’t always post content that you’re interested in. Sometimes, they’ll post about one topic for so long it will clutter your feed which is why Instagram has added a feature to mute an Instagram account.

Muting an Instagram account is the equivalent of unfollowing someone on Facebook. You still remain friends with the person but you no longer see posts from them in your home feed. The person is unaware that they’ve been muted. Twitter has a similar mute feature.

Mute An Instagram Account

This is a new feature that is slowly rolling out to users. It will be available to both iOS and Android users. Make sure the Instagram app is up to date and it ought to appear soon if it hasn’t already rolled out for your account.

To mute an Instagram account, open the app and scroll through your home feed. When you see a post from an account that you want to mute, tap the three little dots at the top right of the post.

In the menu that opens, tap the ‘Mute’ option. You can mute posts, or posts and story for the account. Alternatively, you can mute an Instagram account by going to the account and tapping the three dots button at the top right. A menu will open with a Mute option.

To unmute an account, visit the account’s page and tap the three dots button at the top right. For a muted account, the menu that opens will have an unmute option. Tap it, and posts from the account will start appearing in your home feed once again.

Like the mute options on other social media platforms, the user you mute will not be aware that you’ve muted them. Likewise, when you unmute a user, they will not know about it. Muting is nothing like blocking a user. When you mute an account, you only block their posts from appearing in your feed. The account, if it follows you, will still see all your posts and everything you post to your story. If a user mutes you, you won’t know about it either.

Leave a comment