1. Home
  2. Web Conferencing

How to leave a Microsoft Team

There are different ways to invite users/members to a Microsoft Teams team. You can invite them via their email, you can add them directly from the Active Directory, or you can import them from a Microsoft 365 group.

Users who are invited to a Microsoft Teams team have to accept the invite. Their accounts may have been created and the appropriate licenses allotted to them but unless they sign in for the first time, they’re not really a functional part of the team.

Once a user signs into Microsoft Teams, and accepts the invite, or inputs a Microsoft Teams code, they become part of the team.

Leave a Microsoft Team

A user cannot join a Microsoft Teams team without an invite but leaving a team is fairly easy. There isn’t much that’s stopping a member from exiting a team. That said, if you choose to leave a Microsoft Teams team, make sure that your work does not require that you be a part of it.

Leaving a team will not block you from joining it again but you must get an invite to join it or you will have to use a code, provided it is still active/working.

Leave a Microsoft Team – Desktop

To leave a Microsoft Team from the desktop, follow these steps.

  1. Open Microsoft Teams.
  2. Log in with the account that you use to access the team you want to leave.
  3. Go to the Teams tab.
  4. Click the more options button (three dots button) next to the team you want to leave.
  5. Click Leave Team.
  6. Confirm you want to exit the team and you will be removed from it.

Note: If you are the owner of the team, and there are no other team owners, you won’t be able to exit the team. A team must have one owner. You can assign the owner role to a different user and then exit the team.

Leave a Microsoft Team - Desktop

Leave a Microsoft Team – Mobile

To leave a Microsoft Teams team from the mobile app, follow these steps.

  1. Open Microsoft Teams on your phone.
  2. Go to the Teams tab.
  3. Tap the more options button (three dots button) next to the team name.
  4. Select Leave team from the menu.
  5. Confirm that you want to leave the team.

Note: A team must have one owner. If you’re the last owner of the team, you won’t be able to leave it.

Conclusion

Leaving a team is pretty easy and in many cases, you may still be able to access files that are share over it. The files, when uploaded to Microsoft Teams, are uploaded to Sharepoint. Leaving a Microsoft Teams team won’t revoke your access to Sharepoint. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.