1. Home
  2. Windows

How to leave a Slack workspace

Slack has support for multiple accounts, and for multiple workspaces. Multiple workspaces can be connected to a single account e.g., you have one email account and you’ve been invited to several workspaces through it. Switching between these workspaces within Slack is easy, and you can hide a workspace if you want to. That said, if you’d like to leave a Slack Workspace, you can.

leave a Slack workspace

Leave Slack workspace

Leaving a workspace in Slack is tricky; users are invited to a workspace by the workspace owner i.e. the person that has set the workspace up. When you join such a workspace, the status of this workspace is a ‘default’ workspace. To leave it, you have to contact the workspace owner or admin.

An alternative is to sign out of the workspace. You can still be tagged in messages but you won’t get notifications for any activity from the workspace in Slack.

Leave Slack workspace – Deactivate account

Deactivating is a user-end control. If you cannot get in touch with a workspace admin, you instead deactivate your account in the workspace. 

To this, follow these steps.

  1. Open Slack on your desktop and select the workspace you want to leave.
  2. Once selected, click your profile icon at the top right and select Profile from the menu. 
  3. In the panel that opens, click the More button and select Account Settings.

  1. A new tab will open in your default browser.
  2. Scroll down to the Deactivate account section.
  3. Click the Deactivate account button.
  4. Your account in that workspace will be deactivated and you can no longer be messaged or mentioned directly or in a channel.

Reactivate Slack account

As an end user, you have the option to voluntarily deactivate your account in a Slack workspace however, you cannot activate it again at will. In order to rejoin the workspace, you must be invited back by the workspace admin or an owner. There is no way around this so, if you’re choosing to deactivate an account in a workspace, be sure you do not intend to come back or that coming back is manageable for you.

Conclusion

Slack workspaces are basically large groups that are created by a single person or company. They aren’t open spaces for the general public to join which is why entry and exit to a workspace isn’t open. If you’ve joined a Slack workspace using a company email, you may not be able to deactivate your account. It really depends on the email that you’re using and the settings your company has applied to it. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.