1. Home
  2. Windows

How to save/unsave messages in Microsoft Teams

Chat applications that are used for productivity need a way to keep important messages from being lost in larger, longer conversations. Channels are one way to group a conversation by topic and Slack has had a great deal of success with its channels but messages do still tend to get lost. Bookmarking them works considerably better.

Save/unsave messages in Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams allows users to save an important message i.e., it goes with bookmarks to save messages.

Save message Microsoft Teams

Saving a message in Microsoft Teams is easy;

  1. Open Microsoft Teams.
  2. Look for the message you want to save and click the more options button just above it.
  3. Select ‘Save this message’.
  4. A bookmark icon will appear on it to indicate the message has been saved.

Unsave message in Microsoft Teams

Unsaving a message in Microsoft Teams is as easy as saving it however, some users have been unable to unsave a message once it’s been saved.

To unsave a message;

  1. Open Microsoft Teams.
  2. Click your profile icon at the top right.
  3. Select Saved.
  4. Click the ribbon icon on a saved message to unsave it or click the more options button and select ‘Unsave this message’.

Message will not unsave in Microsoft Teams

If the message does not unsave it’s a bug some users are experiencing. It isn’t complicated to solve and you will be able to remove a saved message. Try the two solutions below.

1. Quit Microsoft Teams

  1. Right-click the Microsoft Teams icon in the system tray.
  2. Select Quit.
  3. Run the app again.
  4. Unsave the message.

2. Sign out and Sign in

  1. Click your profile icon at the top right.
  2. Select Sign Out.
  3. Once you’ve been signed out, Sign in again.
  4. Unsave the message.

Conclusion

Messages not unsaving in Microsoft Teams is a bug that’s only a few days old at this point. The message appears to be removed from saved messages but when you open saved messages again, or you shut down your system and log into it the next day, the removed message is still there. Quitting and/or logging out and then unsaving a message appears to fix it but this isn’t a permanent fix. You will continue to have problems unsaving messages. These solutions are only a workaround. Since the bug is new, a fix for it may take time. It has yet to be acknowledged by Microsoft though the company may be aware of it and may fix it silently in a few days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.