1. Home
  2. Android

How To Block Someone On Snapchat

A block feature is essential when it comes to any social media app or service. Users need it to ward off trolls and other users who just won’t stop messaging them. Snapcchat is no different and it does have a block feature. Here’s how you can block someone on Snapchat.

Block On Snapchat

Open Snapchat and tap the chat icon at the bottom left to go to the list of chat threads. Anyone you’ve ever sent a message or snap to will be listed here. The messages or snaps may have disappeared however, the chat thread will still be there. Tap the thread for the person you want to block and tap the hamburger icon at the top left.

This will open a settings screen for that particular user. On this screen, you can request a user’s location, share your location, share usernames, edit the name, enable Do Not Disturb, and of course block a user. Tap the Block option, and confirm that you want to block them. Once the user has been blocked, Snapchat will ask why you wanted to block them. It uses this information to manage users who may be misusing the platform.

If you’ve accidentally blocked someone, you can just as easily unblock them. Go to the main camera view screen on Snapchat and tap your bitmoji/profile icon at the top left. On the next screen, tap the cog wheel button at the top right to go Snapchat’s settings.

On the Settings screen, scroll down until you see the Blocked option. Tap it and you will see a list of everyone you’ve blocked on Snapchat. Tap the little cross button next to a name and that user will be unblocked.

We should mention that if the only reason you’re blocking someone on Snapchat is that they message too often and it’s distracting, you can enable the previously mentioned Do Not Disturb mode and mute notifications from them. This works with group message threads too which are almost always more active than one-on-one message threads.

Once you block a user, they will no longer be able to message you, send snaps, or view your Snapchat story. This will obviously clue them in to the fact that they’ve been blocked. If you’re getting a lot of spam messages or messages from trolls on Snapchat, you might want to turn off Quick add and make it a little harder for people to find and add you on Snapchat.

Leave a comment