1. Home
  2. Web

How To Disable Google Apps Sign In On Chrome 69

Chrome 69 has a new UI that not a lot of users are excited about. The UI is obvious the second you upgrade to the latest version of Chrome however, there’s another major change that comes with this update. Chrome has a sync feature that works via your Google account. As of Chrome 69, if you’ve connected your Google account to Chrome, it will use this same account and sign you into every single Google service, ever. This means when you visit Gmail or YouTube, or Google Drive, you will be signed in with the same account that you’re using to sync bookmarks and browsing history. Here’s how you can disable Google apps sign in on Chrome 69.

Google Apps Sign In On Chrome 69

Open Chrome and in the search bar, enter the following.

chrome://flags/#account-consistency

Look for a flag called Identity consistency between browser and cookie jar and open the dropdown menu next to it. From the menu, select the Disabled option, and relaunch your browser to apply the change.

This flag will stop Chrome from automatically signing you in to Google’s apps and service if you’ve connected an account to Chrome however, if it’s already signed you into a whole bunch of Google apps, it’s not going to automatically sign you out of them. You will have to do this manually yourself.

This change hasn’t been welcomed by users at all. The backlash has been so great that in the next version of Chrome i.e. in Chrome 70, there will be a much easier way to disable Google apps sign in. Google no doubt thought it was being proactive. Maybe the company expected users to be pleasantly surprised by this feature but it hasn’t been well thought out. For one, a lot of people have more than one Google account and these accounts are created and used for different purposes. To assume that someone would want to use Gmail with the same account they use YouTube with is a bit of a leap.

Since this feature is disabled via a Chrome flag, you only have to disable it in any one Chrome profile, and it will be disabled for all Chrome profiles that you’ve configured on your system. This flag’s setting will not sync with your Google account which means that you will need to set it on all the different desktops that you use Chrome on. This feature wasn’t added to the mobile versions of Chrome.

Leave a comment